top of page

Every Rose has its thorn

Throughout my childhood, I have (somewhat) been sheltered. Sheltered by the 'privilege' of economic comfort (that my parents worked really hard to guarantee), by the conservative religious views of my family and 12 year Catholic school education, sheltered from the inequalities within our country and sheltered from the harsh reality of truth- a truth that would later reveal itself in the city of Roses, Bloemfontein.

Growing up, I had a colour blind approach to issues of race. I recall often telling my parents that our harsh history of Apartheid is a thing of the past. I recall telling my parents that apartheid does not affect my generation. I recall telling my parents that we are equal and have equal opportunities and that those who fail in life have only themselves to blame. I recall telling my parents that racism is a destructive weapon of their generation that no longer exists in ours.

Fast forward to the year 2012, where I (with great intentions, ignorance and many tears) moved to the city of Bloemfontein and enrolled at the University of the Free State.

My experience at the university offered me more than just sleepless nights of writing law papers and studying. It revealed that racism still exists and is accompanied by an equally horrible culturalism- where students are still choosing to be socially divided by their races and even their cultures & languages.

It has revealed that although there are equal opportunities on paper to all, the inequalities left by Apartheid have left a huge unbridgeable gap of access to those opportunities.

It has revealed that transformation on issues such as race, gender and religion in such a conservative city will be a long and tedious journey and lastly, it has revealed that there is little to no room for liberalism.

Many of my peers find themselves trapped in the reflections of their parents and as a resultant have many opinions that mirror the values of a past that South Africa is so happy to forget. Many choose to interact with those who look like them, speak like them and live like them, staying in an overrated bubble of comfort.

To me, it is nothing but a shame that a city that is so beautifully diverse can be so diversely segregated.

But I seek more, more than just a rainbow nation where our colours and cultures run segregated along each other. I seek melting pots - bursting with colour and culture.

And until then I will continue to put myself in places that bring me discomfort in order to know more, see more and feel more.

I will allow my peers time to question and engage on their values and opinions.

I will continue to fight for social transformation of exclusive spaces in order to cultivate inclusive, diversely interactive communities.

Now that I have left the dusty city, I am reminded of Madisen Kuhn’s words in ‘your flaws do not define you’: “Every rose has its thorn”, [even the city of roses] but that shouldn't be a reason to neglect its petals.

Therefore I hold onto the greatest petals that fall from Bloemfontein- its people! I hold on to your memories, your words and impact in my life. I hope that you may continue to break the cycles that some so strongly uphold in order for us all to be that little closer to equality and content.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page